Auston Matthews could win the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy on Friday, as NHL will reveal award winners this week

On Saturday, the NHL announced that they will be revealing the winners of the 2020 NHL Awards once a day, starting on Sunday, Sept. 6, through the Conference Finals.
Winners will be announced on NBC Sports, Sportsnet and TVA Sports during their pregame windows through the Conference Finals. Eight awards will be given out once a day for eight days throughout the Conference Finals.
Of the award finalists, Toronto Maple Leafs centre Auston Matthews is particularly a name to note. He is currently one of the finalists for the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, which is the annual award given “to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.” The winner of the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy will be revealed on Friday, Sept. 11.
After the initial eight awards are handed out, the remaining five awards (the Calder Memorial Trophy, Hart Memorial Trophy, James Norris Memorial Trophy, Ted Lindsay Award and Vezina Trophy), will be revealed at some point in a 30-minute program during the Stanley Cup Finals.
Below is the complete schedule for all the awards, along with their finalists.
Sunday, Sept. 6
King Clancy Memorial Trophy ( …

Read More

Author: Matthew Rodrigopulle / The Leafs Nation

Recommended Posts